Motivation

The number of vegetarians and vegans is growing. In 2009 the American Dietetic Association estimated that the number of vegetarians and vegans would double by 2020. In 2011 the Vegetarian Resource Group showed that the number of vegetarians and vegans had already doubled since 2009.

Europe (EVU – European Vegetarian Union):  5 % ≡ 37 million vegetarians in total
Germany (EVU, VEBU):                                        9 % ≡ 7 million vegetarians & 800,000 vegans
Austria (IFES-Studie, 2013):                                9 % ≡ 760,000 vegetarians & 80,000 vegans

The number of vegetarian and vegan athletes is also increasing worldwide. A few outstanding elite and professional runners such as Scott Jurek (ultra-marathon), Michael Arnstein (marathon) and Fiona Oakes (marathon) have chosen a purely plant-based diet. The sporting successes (world records, wins, etc.) of these and many other ultra-endurance athletes show that it is possible to reach a high level in endurance sport on a purely plant-based diet and therefore it can be reliably assumed that a vegan diet is well suited to achieving such high standards in sport.

As part of the bikeeXtreme research project Dr Katharina Wirnitzer was the first to investigate the endurance and stress profile of mountain bikers during a race staged over eight days. In 2014 the Austrian sports scientist reached a milestone with the publication of the world’s first purely plant-based nutrition tactics in endurance sport (32 years after it was first scientifically recommended as the optimal nutrition strategy, especially for endurance athletes, in 1982): Wirnitzer KC & Kornexl E (2014). Energy and macronutrient intakte of a female vegan cyclist during an 8-day mountain bike stage race. Proc (Bayl Univ Med Cent); 27(1):42-45

This case study was the foundation stone: now we have to build on it.

 

Mission

The leader of the study, Dr Wirnitzer, therefore designed the NURMI-Study as a follow-up to the mountain-bike field study and set up a second pilot study in order to build on this foundation stone.
The NURMI Study was set up as an interdisciplinary (nutrition, medicine and sports science) and international (researchers from Germany, Austria and Switzerland) comparative study of running in order to answer some of the so far still unanswered scientific questions and create a broad basis for well-founded evidence of the link between endurance and diet (omnivorous, vegetarian, vegan).

 

Aim

Although the number of vegetarians and vegans worldwide is increasing, it is difficult to find a group of vegetarian and vegan athletes taking part in the same competition to provide a sufficiently large sample for a study.
The proportion of racing cyclists who are vegetarians and vegans is still very small. However the proportion of runners who are vegetarian and vegan is several times greater (“Everybody runs!!), so the broad appeal of running as a sport and the large number of keen runners would seem to form the basis for a large sample.

The aim of this comparative study of running is to investigate and compare the endurance of omnivores, vegetarians and vegans. The first stage of the NURMI Study will therefore examine epidemiological aspects (e.g. age, sex and breakdown of omnivorous, vegetarian and vegan runners at running events), then the second and third stages will investigate the link between diet and running ability.
However a large sample of participants is needed in order to produce representative results and scientific evidence.
By publicizing the NURMI Study we hope to find at least 1,500 runners, i.e. 500 omnivores, 500 vegetarians and 500 vegans.

Well, we’re allowed to dream!
However the NURMI team has sets itself the high target of 10,000 participants, which will provide a particularly meaningful sample – but we didn’t pluck this figure out of the air!
A 1997 US running study, the National Runners’ Health Study, managed to find an incredible sample of 9,242 runners as far back as 17 years ago.
It is this sort of impressive figure that we are aiming for.
With keen runners from all over Europe participating in the NURMI Study we can, all of us together, reach for the stars (science). Together with all of you we should like to try to reach this target of a huge sample for the NURMI Study.

NURMI – Be part of it!
Therefore we are inviting ALL runners (both male and female, any distance) to take part in what is probably the most important study of running ever so that together we can really achieve something. If you would like to take part in the NURMI Study and thus make an important contribution to your sport, please register at info@nurmy-study.com.
You can also help us to reach the target of 10,000 participants by mentioning NURMI as often as possible, wherever you are, to as many runners as possible, including by liking and following it and retweeting and forwarding messages. Thank you, and put your best foot forward!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mission

Mission 2017-03-11T12:58:41+00:00

Motivation

Die Anzahl vegetarisch und vegan lebender Menschen wächst. The American Dietetic Association (2009) schätzt, dass sich die Anzahl der Vegetarier und Veganer bis 2020 verdoppeln wird. Die Vegetarian Rescource Group (2011) hat aufgezeigt, dass sich die Zahl der Vegetarier und Veganer seit 2009 bereits verdoppelt hat.

Europa (EVU – European Vegetarian Union):  5 % ≡ 37 Millionen Vegetarier gesamt
Deutschland (EVU, VEBU):                                  9 % ≡ 7 Million Vegetarier & 800.000 Veganer
Österreich (IFES-Studie, 2013):                          9 % ≡ 760.000 Vegetarier & 80.000 Veganer

Damit steigt auch die Zahl der vegetarischen und veganen Athleten weltweit an. Einige herausragende Elite- und Profi-Läufer wie z. B. Scott Jurek (Ultra-Marathon), Michael Arnstein (Marathon) oder Fiona Oakes (Marathon) haben eine rein pflanzliche Ernährung gewählt. Im Hinblick auf diese und viele andere Ultra-Ausdauerathleten, die einerseits durch ihre sportlichen Erfolge (Weltrekorde, Siege, usw.) verlässliche Anhaltspunkte für Erfolg durch eine vegane Ernährung liefern, und andererseits vielfach beweisen, dass Hochleistungssport im Ausdauerbereich durch eine rein pflanzliche Ernährung erreicht werden kann, ist es begründet anzunehmen, dass die vegane Ernährung für sportliche Höchstleistungen gut geeignet ist.

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts bikeeXtreme untersuchte Dr. Katharina Wirnitzer erstmals die Ausdauerleistungsfähigkeit und das Belastungsprofil von Mountainbikern während eines 8tägigen Etappen-Rennens. 2014 gelang der österreichischen Sportwissenschaftlerin mit der Veröffentlichung der weltweit 1. rein pflanzlichen Ernährungstaktik im Ausdauerleistungssport ein Meilenstein (32 Jahre nach der wissenschaftlichen Erst-Empfehlung 1982 als optimale Ernährungsstrategie speziell für Ausdauersportler): Wirnitzer KC & Kornexl E (2014). Energy and macronutrient intakte of a female vegan cyclist during an 8-day mountain bike stage race. Proc (Bayl Univ Med Cent); 27(1):42-45

Diese Fallstudie gilt als erster Grundstein – darauf gilt es nun aufzubauen.

 

Mission

Studienleiterin Dr. Wirnitzer konzipierte die NURMI-Study daher als Follow-Up zur Feldstudie im Mountainbike-Sport und rief eine 2. Pilotstudie ins Leben, um auf diesem ersten Grundstein aufzubauen.
Um einige der bisher noch ungeklärten wissenschaftlichen Fragen zu beantworten und eine breite Basis für fundierte Aussagen über den Zusammenhang von Ausdauerleistungsfähigkeit und Ernährungsform (Mischkost, vegetarisch, vegan) zu schaffen, wurde die NURMI-Study als interdisziplinäre (Ernährungswissenschaften, Medizin, Sportwissenschaften) und internationale (Forscher aus Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz) vergleichenden Lauf-Studie initiiert.

 

Ziel

Obwohl die Zahl der vegetarisch und vegan lebenden Menschen weltweit zunimmt, ist es schwierig eine Gruppe von vegetarischen bzw. veganen Athleten, die am selben Wettbewerb teilnehmen, für eine Studie mit größerem Stichproben-Umfang zu finden.
Die Schnittmenge aus vegetarisch-veganen Radsportlern ist nach wie vor sehr klein. Im Gegensatz zum Radsport ist aber die Schnittmenge aus Vegetariern, Veganern und Läufern um ein Vielfaches größer („Alle Welt läuft!“), sodass durch die breite Bewegung des Laufsports insgesamt und die vielen begeisterten Läufer die Grundlage für eine große Probandenzahl gegeben scheint.

Diese vergleichende Laufstudie zielt darauf ab die Ausdauerleistungsfähigkeit bei Mischkost, vegetarischer bzw. veganer Ernährung zu untersuchen und zu vergleichen. Ziel der NURMI-Study ist es also, in einer 1. Phase epidemiologische Aspekte (z. B. Alter, Geschlecht, oder Verteilung von omnivoren, vegetarischen und veganen Läufern bei Laufevents) zu erforschen, um anschließend in einer 2. und 3. Phase den Zusammenhang von Ernährungsform und Laufleistung zu untersuchen.
Um repräsentative Ergebnisse zu erhalten und wissenschaftlich fundierte Aussagen treffen zu können, ist allerdings eine große Stichprobenzahl an Probanden nötig.
Durch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für die NURMI-Study zielen wir darauf ab mindestens 1.500 Läufer, d. h. jeweils 500 Läufer aus den Ernährungsgruppen Mischkost, vegetarisch und vegan, zu akquirieren.

Träumen erlaubt!
Das Wunschziel für eine große Teilnehmerzahl und damit für eine besonders aussagekräftige Stichprobe hat das NURMI-Team aber mit 10.000 Läufern hoch angesetzt – jedoch nicht aus Zufall!
Eine US-Laufstudie aus 1997, die sog. National Runners` Health Study, schaffte bereits vor 17 Jahren die unglaubliche Stichprobenzahl von 9.242 Läufern.
Vor diesem Hintergrund möchten wir uns an dieser beeindruckenden Zahl orientieren.
Durch die Teilnahme an der NURMI-Study und die Mithilfe von laufbegeisterten und leidenschaftlichen Läufern überall aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, kann es uns –sozusagen als europäisches Gegenstück – gelingen, gemeinsam mit Euch allen nach den Sternen (der Wissenschaft) greifen. Zusammen mit Euch allen möchten wir versuchen das Wunschziel dieser große Stichprobenzahl für die NURMI-Study zu erreichen.

NURMI – Be part of it!
Daher laden wir JEDE/N einzelne/n Läufer/in (jedes Leistungsniveau!) herzlich ein, an der wohl bedeutendsten Studie für die Laufbewegung teilzunehmen, um gemeinsam etwas Großes zu vollbringen. Wenn Du an der NURMI-Studie teilnehmen und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag für den Laufsport leisten möchtest, melde Dich unter: info@nurmi-study.com.
Hilf uns zusätzlich dabei, die Marke von 10.000 zu knacken und gib den NURMI-Gedanken – so oft als möglich, wo auch immer Du bist – an so vielen Laufbegeisterten als nur irgend möglich weiter, indem Du von NURMI erzählst, NURMI weiter empfiehlst, NURMI likst, folgst und teilst, NURMI retweetest und weiterleitest. Also: Mach mit und sei dabei!
Vielen Dank und Gute Beine!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email